The building later fell into disrepair, until in 1902 it was purchased by a small group of patriotic women who founded the Old Barracks Association and re-opened the building as the Old Barracks Museum in October of 1903. In 1914, the building was given to the State of New Jersey to maintain its upkeep, supported by the Old Barracks Association and a unique combination of public, private and personal funding. You can read the Deed of 1914 and the Law of 1917 substantiating the State’s historical obligation to fund the Old Barracks.
The building was fully restored in 1915-1916 and again in 1995-1998.
Today, the Old Barracks serves as an educational center for Colonial and American history, and stands as the last remaining structure of its kind. The Old Barracks staff provides daily tours and interpretations of American colonial life. The building offers a museum of artifacts and weapons, as well as a gift shop.
Nearly 20,000 school children and thousands more people from all over the world visit the Old Barracks every year, making it one of the most visited sites in New Jersey and one of the most important historic sites in the United States.